PGCBL Adds Three Teams For 2016 Season


NEWARK, N.Y. – The Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League (PGCBL) recently announced the addition of three franchises, giving upstate New York’s premiere summer league a total of 13 teams for the 2016 season.

The Oneonta Outlaws, who were members of the PGCBL during the 2012 season, return to the league along with the Geneva Red Wings and the Jamestown Jammers.

The Outlaws will compete in the six-team East Division alongside Amsterdam, Albany, Glens Falls, Mohawk Valley and Saugerties. Geneva and Jamestown will play in the seven-team West Division with Adirondack, Elmira, Newark, Utica and Victor.

Geneva and Oneonta come to the PGCBL from the New York Collegiate Baseball League (NYCBL), while the Jammers are welcomed to the league after spending their inaugural season in the Prospect League.

Like the Newark Pilots, all three new teams play in former professional ballparks, once used by New York-Penn League (NYPL) teams. The Jammers call Russell Diethrick Park home, which hosted an NYPL club by the same name from 1994-2014. Oneonta’s Damaschke Field was home to affiliates of the Boston Red Sox, the New York Yankees, and most recently, the Detroit Tigers. The Tigers moved to Connecticut following the 2009 season, and has been home to the Outlaws ever since. The Red Wings play at McDonough Park, which has hosted summer collegiate baseball every summer since the Geneva Cubs played their last NYPL game there in 1993.

Since its inaugural season in 2011, the PGCBL has evolved into upstate New York’s premier summer collegiate baseball league, and is quickly rising among the ranks of the most competitive summer wood-bat leagues in the nation. The league is affiliated with Perfect Game USA, the largest independent scouting service in the United States.

Teams in the PGCBL draw talent from some of the best colleges and universities across the country, including some of the most competitive programs at the Division I level. In 2015, the PGCBL featured players from Division I schools such as Auburn, Buffalo, Connecticut, Cornell, Florida State, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisville, Maryland, Mississippi State, North Carolina State, Notre Dame, Rice and Virginia – the reigning NCAA Division I World Series Champions.

The PGCBL’s 13 clubs will compete in a 50-game schedule, beginning in June, with the playoffs and league championship series concluding in early August. For more information on the league and its team, visit